3/15/2012

Journey Forward ∴ 5 - More About Me

I'm a day late & a dollar short on this post. All for a good cause however, the pursuit of my one word: RELAX. I spent yesterday lounging at the most quaint little beach. My friends & I hopped a local bus and went to Mero Beach, where there is a little beachfront french cafe. We had fresh waffles, grapefruit margaritas, lunch, and chocolate mousse for dessert. It was delightful.

But on to the real purpose of this post, Journey Forward. The task this week is to describe myself.


Hi, my name is Katie & I'm 28 years old. I'm married and live in Dominica with my med-school husband. I think you've heard all this already though, or if not, go read my about page. {I'll wait.}

Great, now we can talk about everything important. I love Mexican food. Burritos, enchiladas, chile rellenos, and margaritas fill my dreams. I'm a good cook. In college I spent a summer cooking at a summer camp and learned to be afraid of nothing in the kitchen. This doesn't mean I like having to cook dinner every night, but when I'm in the mood, it's fabulous.


I am personable & friendly, but I get exhausted being around lots of people for extended periods of time. I like to wander around my house when no one is home & just be alone. I like being in charge & am good at multi-tasking; I am a great teacher.



I can be sarcastic & snarky. I like to be right. I am a perfectionist at heart, and if things can't be the way I like them, I tend to get annoyed. I am a worrier, and find it hard to relax. But I am aware of these qualities, and try my best to over come them (or mask them).

We don't have any kids yet, but not for lack of wanting them. I just don't feel old enough! No offense to all you wonderful young moms out there. I'm just not at that stage in my life yet. We live on an island for goodness sake! But hopefully within the next 5 years there will be babies. This year will be our 5th wedding anniversary.


I just finished my master's degree in Ed Tech, and have no idea how I will use it yet. Mostly because I am in love with my new gig as a blog designer. LOVE I tell you. I love to play on the computer, work on the computer, make friends on the computer (you get the idea). But I also love to read, write, do yoga, travel, play board games, enjoy a drink, and hang out with my husband. I've been to more countries than states and have lived abroad twice already.


There are a lot of things I wish I could change about myself, and a lot of areas that I need improvement. But I am happier today than I was 5 years ago. Thinking about what the next 5 years holds for us in terms of moving, school, career, baby-making, etc. is scary. But I know that we will do more than just get through it. I am determined to make choices that will keep me happy in my journey forward.





1  ∴  2  ∴  3 ∴  4

No comments :